The Crazy Stupid Testimonial Hack That Boosts Conversions

Apply this one change to your landing pages over the weekend

This used to be a section of my landing pages for fieldproxy.com when I was starting out:

Conversion rate: 2.61%

We made ONE change to the landing page before our next ad campaign:

Conversion rate: 7.92% 

What am I trying to say? That testimonials are powerful.

My landing pages at Fieldproxy now get 3% click rates on the customer stories section.

It’s a strong indicator that your clients’ story will sell to other clients.

Why? Because people want to have a solid reason to buy. And they will give themselves that reason if they see enough people also trusting your product.

So, build a great product, then invest effort into collecting feedback. That’s the easy part.

Now how do you use this trust-hacker to your advantage?

Aside from the video testimonial example above, we’ve seen a couple more trust-hacks that work really well for us

a) The lead form bait

Oh stop looking at me like that! I call it for what it is, and this is a classic bait. Doesn’t mean it’s negative :)

We did a lead form update where we put a couple of our clients’ logos next to our form, and it worked like magic. I need to polish up the text a bit more.

It’s been ages since I changed it, but this format has worked well for us. Maybe try it and let me know

b) Customer success numbers

We also included a Customer Success in Numbers section, that accounts for 2.1% of redirects to our client stories page.

It’s a really simple bait. You show readers a glimpse of the numbers you generate for your clients

Honorable Mention

Something that I stole for my website that didn’t work for me, but I still love, is Spendflo’s success section:

For some reason our audience didn’t resonate with it as much, but still mentioning it here because it answer’s a prospects most crucial question right upfront:

  • How much money can it save for me?

  • How much should I pay you

  • Have you helped others do what I want?

Okay, what are you waiting for? Go make some changes to your pages :)

P.S: I write 0-1 growth hacks and stuff like this everyday. Drop your email below if you want one in your inbox everyday.

Join the conversation

or to participate.